Complete List of Databases (A-Z)

Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to.  They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet.  You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.

 

 

AutoMate

Covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.

BC Laws

 Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.

British Columbia Codes

Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.

British Columbia Statistics

Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.  Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)

Business Source Premier

Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial

Business Plan Handbooks

A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.

Canadian Encyclopedia

A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips.  No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.

Canadian Reference Centre

Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.

Clicklaw

An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.

Consumer Health Complete

Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial

EbscoHost

EbscoHost is an online research database.

Reliable, high-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals, to meet the specific needs of all library patrons.

Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC)

LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.

Explora Canada

Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.

Explora Primary Schools

A research interface for K-5.  Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.

GreenFile

Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.

Indigenous Storybooks

Designed specifically for children, families, community members, and educators, and inspired by the open-licensed stories from Little Cree Books. Presents text, images, and audio of stories in Indigenous languages as well as English, French, and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages of Canada.

IndieFlix

Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries.  Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.

Khan Academy

“For free. For everyone. Forever.”

A personalized learning resource for all ages.

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there’s no limit to what they can learn next!

KnowBC Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of British Columbia: with more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.

Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest: A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes

The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names: A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia

Far West: The Story of British Columbia

Raincoast Chronicles 20: Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia

Where Mountains Meet the Sea: A History of Coastal BC

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

 

LinkedIn Learning for Libraries is your source for online learning

Fort Nelson Public Library members have access to thousands of video tutorials covering topics such as business, project management, popular software, and much more. Courses are taught by industry experts. Learn something new today!

 

 

NNELS

“National Network for Equitable Library Service (Restricted to patrons with print disability) – digital access to a collection of over 38,000 e-audio, e-text and e-braille titles. Tutorials and instructions”

RBdigital

Provides access to our library’s downloadable ebook and audioBook collection. You can access these 24 hours a days, seven days a week.

RBdigital Magazines

Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.

Points to the Past

Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.

Regional Business News

A collection of regional U.S. business periodicals and newswires that includes some international business news. Contains the most recent 30 days of information from each wire source.

 TechBoomers

Techboomers.com is a free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life.